NIRSA membership votes annually, via electronic elections, to fill positions on the NIRSA Board of Directors and the Member Network as well as on any proposed amendments to NIRSA’s Bylaws. The 2018 Elections will launch on January 17 and close on January 29.

The Nominations & Appointments Committee reviewed numerous qualified applications and, with the endorsement of the 2017–2018 NIRSA Board of Directors, presents the following slate of candidates for the 2018 NIRSA Board of Directors elections. 

President Elect

David Davenport, Austin Peay State University
Jen Gudaz, EdD, Cornell University

At-Large Director

Jocelyn Hill, American University
Lori Stettler, CRSS, Southern Illinois University Carbondale

Professional members will have the opportunity to vote on candidates applying for President Elect and At-Large Director on the 2018–2019 NIRSA Board of Directors, as will members of the Student Leadership Team.

Additionally, the regional nominations & appointments committees reviewed the various Member Network applications and, with the support of the NIRSA Nominations & Appointments Committee, presents the following slate of candidates for available Member Network positions.

Region II Regional Representative

Craig Decker, RCRSP, West Virginia University
Lashica Thomas, Columbus State University

Region IV Regional Representative

Jerrod Jackson, Texas A&M University-College Station
Michael Wise, Emporia State University

Region VI Regional Representative

Todd Bauch, Portland State University
Marc Falkenstein, University of the Pacific 

Canadian Regional Representative

Bill Halma, University of Lethbridge
Jason Wright, University of Victoria 

NIRSA Student Leader

Caroline Ciell, University of Mississippi
Demitri Lahanas, Virginia Commonwealth University

Region I Student Leader

Jonathan Sanders, Boston College
Samantha Wary, Millersville University of Pennsylvania

Region II Student Leader

Christopher Cooksey, The University of Tennessee
Corrine Pruett, University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Region III Student Leader

Stephanie Calhoun, Indiana University-Bloomington
Amy Ramras, Central Michigan University

Region IV Student Leader

Xiomara (CieCie) Leonard, Texas A&M University- Commerce
Riley Spenningsby, University of Houston

Region V Student Leader

Kelly Ibele, University of Wyoming
DeVanee Lasley, University of Nebraska

Region VI Student Leader

Rachel Horras, Washington State University
Kyle Pearson, Utah State University

Canadian Student Leader

Zack Sephton, University of Windsor
Sarah Jevne, University of Alberta

The NIRSA Member Network expands the regional network of the Association and creates opportunities for member involvement and leadership development. Professional members will have the chance to vote on their respective regional representative in Regions II, IV, VI or Canada, and student members will vote on the NIRSA Student Leader and their respective regional student leader.

As a reminder to all members, candidates for the NIRSA Board of Directors and the Member Network don’t “run for election,” they “stand for office.” All candidates have agreed to serve the Association and it is an honor to have any one of them represent the membership. Therefore, it is not appropriate for members to campaign on behalf of individual candidates.

An electronic voting platform will be in place for the 2018 Elections. Please make sure your member profile on NIRSA Connect is updated with your current email address so you can exercise your opportunity to vote! Only those professional and student members whose NIRSA membership is active as of 8:00am PST on January 16 will be eligible to vote.


For more information, please contact NIRSA Senior Director of Professional Development Mary Callender.

Senior Director of Operations at | NIRSA Profile

Mary Callender, CRSS is the Senior Director of Operations at NIRSA.