Update, August 28, 2018: This article has been edited to reflect the most current roster information.

This April, NIRSA, the NIRSA Foundation, and the NIRSA Championship Series finalized committee appointments for the 2018–2019 year. NIRSA committees perform an important role by focusing their work on specific topics relevant to both the collegiate recreation profession and the Association.

Nearly 200 NIRSA members applied to serve on committees and work teams this year, showing a tremendous amount of support for the Association. It comes as no surprise, given our profession’s focus on students, that some of the highest level of interest was in committees related to student development: Career Opportunities Center, Student Professional Development, and William Wasson Student Awards Committees.

NIRSA’s abilities and achievements are a direct result of the incredible, dedicated volunteers who tirelessly strive to help the Association realize its vision of inspiring healthy people and communities worldwide. These individuals—who give so much time and talent to NIRSA and collegiate recreation—are the reason the field has come so far. They are the guarantee of great things to come.

Congratulations to the newly-appointed 2018–2019 committee and work team chairs!

Annual Conference Program Committees

The leadership year for the NIRSA and NIRSA Foundation committees runs from May 1, 2018 to April 30, 2019. Please join us in welcoming these NIRSA leaders to their new roles.

Career Services Center Chair: Kathryn Thies, Loyola University Chicago
Conference Expo Co-chairs: Suzanne Ries, Florida Gulf Coast University
Conference Expo Co-chairs: Blair Schuyler, University of Kansas
Conference Program Chair: Walter Kolis, Georgia Institute of Technology
Student Professional Development Chair: William Boucher, The University of Alabama

NIRSA Awards Committees

Creative Excellence Awards Chair: Laura Munroe, The University of Texas at San Antonio
Honor Award Chair: Greg Jordan, Oakland University
NIRSA Annual Service Award Chair: Jean McClellan-Holt, Old Dominion University
Outstanding Sports Facilities Awards Chair: Stephanne Musser, The Ohio State University
William N. Wasson Student Leadership & Academic Awards Chair: Steve Drasdis, University of Connecticut

NIRSA Governance Committees

Audit & Finance Chair: Leah Hall Dorothy, Oregon State University
Bylaws Chair: Stan Shingles, Central Michigan University
Nominations & Appointments Chair: Leah Hall Dorothy, Oregon State University
Government Affairs Chair: Yvette Kell, CENTERS, LLC At University of Missouri-St Louis
Research & Assessment Chair: Austin Anderson, University of Southern Indiana

NIRSA Professional Development Committees

NIRSA Collegiate Sport Club Institute Chair: Mario Rios, Texas State University

NIRSA Foundation Committees

NIRSA Foundation Scholarships Chair: Sammy Axley, University at Albany
NIRSA Foundation Stipends Chair: Maxwell Miller, Swarthmore College

NIRSA Championship Series Work Teams

The service year for NIRSA Championship Series runs from June 1, 2018 to May 31, 2019. The following appointments have been made for the 2018-2019 year.

NIRSA Championship Series: Exec Chair: Randall Ford, The University of Texas at Austin
NIRSA Championship Series: Exec Vice Chair: Scott Flickinger, Cornell University
NIRSA Championship Series: Exec 2nd Vice Chair: Marty Dempsey, University of Florida
NIRSA Championship Series: Assessment Chair: April Flint, Emory University
NIRSA Championship Series: Basketball Chair: Jeffery Logsdon, University of Cincinnati
NIRSA Championship Series: Brand Management Chair: Oscee Wheatfall, Texas A & M University – College Station
NIRSA Championship Series: Club Basketball Chair: Drew Cantwell, Louisiana State University
NIRSA Championship Series: Flag Football Chair: Jarrode Davis, The Ohio State University
NIRSA Championship Series: Soccer Chair: Laura Thomas, University of Alabama
NIRSA Championship Series: Standards of Competition Chair: Kelli Rockwell, Georgia Institute of Technology
NIRSA Championship Series: Student/Professional Development Chair: Arianne Judy, University of Notre Dame
NIRSA Championship Series: Tennis Chair: Gary Cahen, University of Central Florida

Communities of Practice Conveners

NIRSA Communities of Practice are online professional networks designed for discussion surrounding a given topic. They’re intended to accumulate knowledge and resources that become intellectual assets for NIRSA members while simultaneously increasing the connection points between members and the volunteer leadership of the Association.

Each community of practice has a volunteer convener to help facilitate discussions and manage the resource library. The conveners will use their respective Communities of Practice to accomplish their charges.

Aquatics Community of Practice Convener: Kyle Chavis, Lafayette College
Facilities Community of Practice Convener: Tim Moore, University of Hawaii at Hilo
Fitness Community of Practice Convener: Katie Lundberg, University of Northern Colorado
Global Perspectives Community of Practice Convener: Rahul Rajan, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Health & Wellbeing Community of Practice Convener: Stacy Connell, Georgia Institute of Technology
Intramural Sports Community of Practice Convener: Michael Berdowski, Western Michigan University
Leadership Community of Practice Convener: Eric Maki, West Chester University of Pennsylvania
Marketing Community of Practice Convener: Brittany Heiring, Colorado State University – Fort Collins
Outdoor Recreation Community of Practice Convener: Abe Cross, Lindsey Wilson College
Risk Management Community of Practice Convener: Angela Nagle, Saint Joseph’s University
Sport Clubs Community of Practice Convener: Maxwell Miller, Swarthmore College
Sustainability Community of Practice Convener: Megan Krone, CENTERS, LLC At DePaul University
You can find details on other NIRSA volunteer leaders for the 2018-2019 leadership year in the news article “Congratulations to NIRSA’s newly-elected leaders.”