This March, NIRSA, the NIRSA Foundation, and the NIRSA Championship Series finalized committee appointments for the 2017-2018 year. NIRSA committees perform an important role by focusing their work on specific topics relevant to both the collegiate recreation profession and the Association.

Nearly 250 NIRSA members applied to serve on committees and work teams this year, showing a tremendous amount of support for the Association. It comes as no surprise, given our profession’s focus on students, that the highest level of interest was in committees related to student development: Career Opportunities Center, Student Professional Development, and William Wasson Student Awards Committees.

NIRSA’s abilities and achievements are a direct result of the incredible, dedicated volunteers who tirelessly strive to help the Association realize its vision of inspiring healthy people and communities worldwide. These individuals—who give so much time and talent to NIRSA and collegiate recreation—are the reason the field has come so far. They are the guarantee of great things to come.

Congratulations to the newly-appointed 2017-2018 committee and work team chairs!

Annual Conference Program Committees

The leadership year for the NIRSA and NIRSA Foundation committees runs from May 1, 2017 to April 30, 2018. Please join us in welcoming these NIRSA leaders to their new roles.

Career Opportunities CenterChair: Owen McFadden, Furman University
Conference ExpoCo-chairs: Matt Horst, Georgia Southern University
Conference ExpoCo-chairs: Blair Schuyler, University of Kansas
Conference ProgramChair: Becky Todd, University of Arkansas
Student Professional DevelopmentChair: Jean Holt, Old Dominion University

NIRSA Awards Committees

Creative Excellence AwardsChair: Stephanne Musser, The Ohio State University
Honor AwardChair: Mick Deluca, UCLA
NIRSA Annual Service AwardChair: Stephanie McAlpine, The University of Texas at Arlington
Outstanding Sports Facilities AwardsChair: Silvia Chan, University of Connecticut
William N. Wasson Student Leadership & Academic AwardsChair: Chris Fiocchi, Clemson University

NIRSA Governance Committees

Audit & FinanceChair: Ken Morton, Stephen F Austin University
BylawsChair: Stan Shingles, Central Michigan University
Nominations & AppointmentsChair: Ken Morton, Stephen F Austin University
Policy & LegislationChair: Mark Ritter, University of South Carolina-Upstate
Research & AssessmentChair: Jessica Kiss, MEd, Bowling Green State University

NIRSA Professional Development Committees

NIRSA Intramural Sports InstituteChair: Jason Linsenmeyer, Oklahoma State University
NIRSA Aquatic InstituteChair: Bethany Bower, Georgetown University
NIRSA Fitness & Wellness InstituteChair: Steven Trotter, Virginia Tech
NIRSA Recreation Facilities InstituteCo-Chairs: Katy Locke, The University of Tennessee
NIRSA Recreation Facilities InstituteCo-Chairs: Tina Villard, Rice University

NIRSA Foundation Committees

NIRSA Foundation ScholarshipsChair: Jen Gudaz, EdD, Cornell University
NIRSA Foundation StipendsChair: Shomari Kee, Florida Gulf Coast University

NIRSA Championship Series Work Teams

The service year for NIRSA Championship Series runs from June 1, 2017 to May 31, 2018. The following appointments have been made for the 2017-2018 year.

NIRSA Championship Series: ExecChair: Oscee Wheatfall, Texas A & M University-College Station
NIRSA Championship Series: ExecVice Chair: Randall Ford, The University of Texas at Austin
NIRSA Championship Series: Exec2nd Vice Chair: Scott Flickinger, Cornell University
NIRSA Championship Series: AssessmentChair: April Flint, Emory University
NIRSA Championship Series: BasketballChair: Megan Morris, Loyola University Chicago
NIRSA Championship Series: Brand ManagementChair: Nicole Widmer, San Diego State University
NIRSA Championship Series: Club BasketballChair: Drew Cantwell, Louisiana State University
NIRSA Championship Series: Flag FootballChair: Mark Comer, University of Baltimore
NIRSA Championship Series: SoccerChair: Laura Thomas, Texas Tech University
NIRSA Championship Series: Standards of CompetitionChair: Keegan Ashbee, University of Florida
NIRSA Championship Series: Student/Professional DevelopmentChair: Arianne Judy, University of Notre Dame
NIRSA Championship Series: TennisChair: Gary Cahen, University of Central Florida

Communities of Practice Conveners

NIRSA Communities of Practice are online professional networks designed for discussion surrounding a given topic. They are intended to accumulate knowledge and resources that become intellectual assets for NIRSA members while simultaneously increasing the connection points between members and the volunteer leadership of the Association.

Each community of practice has a volunteer convener to help facilitate discussions and manage the resource library. The conveners will use their respective Communities of Practice to accomplish their charges.

Aquatics Communities of PracticeConvener: Christopher Crume, Denison University
Facilities Communities of PracticeConvener: Candice Douglas, Western Kentucky University
Fitness Communities of PracticeConvener: Taylor Kent, Saint Ambrose University
Health & Wellbeing Communities of PracticeConvener: Carrie Baines, Virginia Commonwealth University
Intramural Sports Communities of PracticeConvener: Jarrode Davis, The Ohio State University
Marketing Communities of PracticeConvener: Connie Kottmann, Virginia Commonwealth University
Outdoor Recreation Communities of PracticeConvener: Abe Cross, Lindsey Wilson College
Risk Management Communities of PracticeConvener: Michael Howard, Duke University
Sustainability Communities of PracticeConvener: Linda Clauss, California State University-East Bay


You can find details on other NIRSA volunteer leaders for the 2017-2018 leadership year in the news article “Congratulations to NIRSA’s newly-elected leaders.”


Leadership Programs Coordinator at | NIRSA Profile

Lani Sherman was the Leadership Programs Coordinator at NIRSA.