This April, NIRSA, the NIRSA Foundation, and the NIRSA Championship Series finalized committee appointments for the 2020–2021 leadership year. NIRSA committees perform an important role by focusing their work on specific topics relevant to both the collegiate recreation profession and the Association. 

Over 170 NIRSA members applied to serve on committees and work teams this year, showing a tremendous amount of support for the Association. The Conference Program Committee and the Student Professional Development Committee—followed closely by the William Wasson Student Awards Committee and the NIRSA Foundation Scholarships Committee—were the committees that received the highest levels of interest. 

NIRSA’s abilities and achievements are a direct result of the incredible, dedicated volunteers who tirelessly strive to help the Association realize its vision of inspiring healthy people and communities worldwide. These individuals—who give so much time and talent to NIRSA and collegiate recreation—are the reason the field has come so far. They are the guarantee of great things to come.

Congratulations to the newly appointed 2020–2021 committee and work team chairs!

The leadership year for NIRSA and NIRSA Foundation committees runs from May 1, 2020 to April 30, 2021. The roster and charges for all committees is available on theNIRSA website. Please join us in welcoming these NIRSA leaders to their new roles!

NIRSA Annual Conference Committees

Student Professional DevelopmentChairParker AndersonSan Diego State University
Conference ProgramChairErin Patchett Colorado State University – Fort Collins
Conference ExpoCo-ChairAlicia Rossow Florida Southern College
Conference ExpoCo-ChairHollie Power Indiana State University
Career Services CenterChairJon Randle University of Kansas

NIRSA Awards Committees

Annual Service AwardChairJessica GentryUniversity of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Creative Excellence AwardsChairLaura Munroe University of Texas at San Antonio
Honor Award CommitteeChairVicki HighstreetUniversity of Nebraska
Outstanding Sports Facilities AwardsChairKristin DeAngeloUniversity of Arkansas
William N. Wasson Student
Leadership & Academic Awards
ChairMike DominguezSonoma State University

NIRSA Governance Committees

Audit & FinanceChair (BOD Rep)Derek HottellVirginia Commonwealth University
BylawsChairMark RitterUniversity of South Carolina-Upstate
Nominations & AppointmentsChair (BOD Rep)Cara LuciaElon University

NIRSA Programs/Services

HBCU CommitteeCo-chairRahim BoothCoppin State University
Co-chairJomah WatsonHoward University
Government AffairsCo-chairYvette KellCENTERS, LLC At University of Missouri-St Louis
Co-chairChristopher CrumeDenison University
Research and AssessmentChairJason MillerUniversity of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
#RecChat ChairRichelle WilliamsWestern Washington University

NIRSA Foundation Committees

Foundation Travel GrantsChairTBDTBD
Foundation Student Officials Development Campaign Work TeamChairRyan WingersGeorgia Southern University
Foundation Legacy SocietyChairAnthony GoldstonUniversity of Delaware
Foundation ScholarshipsChairJean BernardSoutheastern Louisiana University
Foundation Young Donor Work Team Co-ChairDrake BeltUniversity of Arizona
Co-ChairSteven KarasewskiElmhurst College

NIRSA Championship Series

The service year for the NIRSA Championship Series runs from June 1, 2020 to May 31, 2021. The following appointments have been made for the 2020–2021 year. The roster and charges for all committees will be available on the NIRSA website. Please join us in welcoming these NIRSA leaders to their new roles!

Executive TeamChairMarty DempseyUniversity of Florida
Vice ChairAshley LaxUniversity of Wisconsin - Madison
2nd Vice ChairJonathan JohnstonTexas A&M Commerce
Assessment Work TeamChairAntonio GonzalezUniversity of South Florida
Basketball Work TeamChairDexter ShorterPennsylvania State University-Main Campus
Brand Management Work TeamChairDerek Doss
Club Basketball Work TeamCo-chairJoshua DietrichKent State University
Co-chairMatthew DuniganUniversity of California-Riverside
Flag Football Work TeamCo-chairJarrode DavisThe Ohio State University
Co-chairBrooke CochranUniversity of Florida
Soccer Work TeamChairJon JanisUniversity of Houston
Standards of Competition Work Team ChairDanny FeitelUniversity of California-Merced
Student/Professional Development Work TeamChairAbby Van NoteUniversity of Wisconsin- Madison
Tennis Work TeamChairDavid PetersFlorida State University
Unified Task ForceChairAmanda AlpertUniversity of Mississippi
  • For more information, please contact NIRSA Leadership Programs Coordinator, Chelsea Hansson.
Leadership Programs Coordinator at NIRSA | NIRSA Profile

Chelsea Hansson is the Leadership Programs Coordinator at NIRSA.