Update, February 11: Runoff election results have been announced: Kathrynne Nail will become the Regional Student Representative to the Member Network from Region V.

NIRSA owes its success to the leadership of dedicated volunteers—to members who generously donate their time and use their experience in the collegiate recreation profession to support NIRSA members and strategically direct NIRSA’s operations and services. Thanks to these dedicated members, NIRSA continues to offer the best professional development, networking and resources to the collegiate recreation profession.

NIRSA members vote annually via electronic elections to fill positions on the NIRSA Member Network and the NIRSA Board of Directors. Elections recently closed, and the Association would like to thank the members who voted—just over 32%. From the highly qualified slate of inspiring individuals who stood for office to the dedicated members who took time out of their busy schedules to vote, the strength of our Association depends on your voice—and you’ve made it count.

The Association is pleased to welcome our incoming professional and student leaders to positions on the 2020–2021 NIRSA Board of Directors and Member Network beginning on May 1.

NIRSA Board of Directors

President Elect

Mila Padgett
University of South Carolina Aiken

At-Large Director

Nigel Harris
Kennesaw State University

Member Network Professional Positions

Region II Regional Representative

Jason Darby
University of Southern Mississippi

Region IV Regional Representative

Matt Beck, RCRSP

Oklahoma State University

Region VI Regional Representative

Allie Bogard, RCRSP

Montana State University

Member Network Student Positions

NIRSA Student Leader

Tanika Santos

University of Kentucky

Region I Regional Student Leader

Maeve McKinney

Rowan University

Region II Regional Student Leader

Emily Murphy

West Virginia University

Region III Regional Student Leader

Karen David

University of Dayton

Region IV Regional Student Leader

Grayson Graham

Emporia State University

Region V Regional Student Leader


Region VI Regional Student Leader

Adam McClanahan

Utah State University

Canadian Regional Student Leader

Ross Clausi

University of Western Ontario

Please join us in congratulating our elected leaders!

Run-off election

There was a tie for the Region V Student Leader between Jay Mahoney and Kathrynne Nail. A run-off election launched to the student members of Region V on Monday, February 3 and will close on Monday, February 10.

Results of proposed bylaw amendments

Two proposed amendments to the NIRSA Bylaws were on the 2020 ballot. Proposed amendments must receive a 2/3 majority of votes to pass.  Both amendments passed.

The results for each proposed amendment are below.

Article II: Members. Section 4A – Dues and Assessments

Passed, with 85% of voters in favor

Article VII – Assembly

Passed, with 96% of voters in favor

  • For more information about NIRSA Elections, please contact NIRSA Senior Director of Operations Mary Callender.
Director at Austin Peay State University | NIRSA Profile

David Davenport is currently the Director at Austin Peay State University and the NIRSA  President.