NIRSA Foundation Scholarships Committee 2017-09-07T16:41:58+00:00

Project Description

Back to Volunteer Group page

NIRSA Foundation Scholarships Committee

Applications are open! Learn more or apply today.

PositionFirst NameLast NameDesignationCompanyEmail
ChairJenGudazEdDCornell Universityjag245@cornell.edu
Committee ConsultantThereseKennedyCRSSUniversity of Wisconsin-Whitewaterkennedyt@uww.edu
Board ConsultantChrisMullerCRSS, RCRSPThe University of Texas at Arlingtoncmuller@uta.edu
Board LiaisonLexiChaputUniversity of Michigan-Ann Arborlexic@umich.edu
MemberSammyAxleyCRSS, RCRSPUniversity at Albanysaxley@albany.edu
MemberAdamBurkeUniversity of Wyomingadam.burke@uwyo.edu
MemberAnnaCastilloSouthwestern Universitycastilla@southwestern.edu
MemberCindyCowdenSUNY at Binghamtoncowden@binghamton.edu
MemberJonathanElliottRCRSPUniversity of Arkansasjelliott@uark.edu
MemberBriannaHarrisBowling Green State Universitybriharr@bgsu.edu
MemberJeffHuskeyRCRSPUniversity of California-Santa Barbarajeff.huskey@recreation.ucsb.edu
MemberJennyLarsonElon Universityjlarson4@elon.edu
MemberAndyMiltonRCRSPSaint Ambrose Universitymiltonandrewa@sau.edu
MemberRexPringleCRSSThe University of Tennesseerpringl2@utk.edu
MemberCaitlinSommersRCRSPWestern Washington UniversityCaitlin.Sommers@wwu.edu
MemberAbigailWhaleyThe Ohio State Universitywhaley.109@osu.edu
NIRSA Headquarters MemberKelleyHungerfordNIRSA Headquarterskelley.hungerford@nirsa.org

2017-2018 NIRSA Foundation Scholarship Committee Charges

 Description: The Scholarship Committee is responsible for reviewing applications and awarding scholarships annually to student and professional members. To ensure the success of the scholarship process, this committee will review the process annually and make recommendations to the NIRSA Foundation Board of Directors.

  • Committee Structure: The 13-person committee (including the chair) shall be made up of at least 25% past scholarship recipients. Selection to this committee will allow the opportunity for the NIRSA Foundation Board to engage donors or potential donors in high-level NIRSA Foundation work. The Board Liaison shall share names of individuals to the NIRSA Foundation Board President for selection upon reviewing the NIRSA committee preference submittals.
  • Time Commitment: Committee members will spend a significant amount of time immediately following the deadline to review applications in a two-tiered review process. Additional time is spent for scholarship introduction training, review processing and post-scholarship award for debriefing.

2017-2018 Charges:

  1. Review scholarship and application processes and rating systems (summer).
  2. Coordinate with NIRSA HQ to set up online application and web content on scholarship availability.
  3. Review submitted scholarship applications (fall).
  4. Make recommendation for scholarship recipients (fall).
  5. Review process and develop a scholarship manual to include stipend procedures as well. Make recommendations for improvements (spring).

Application Information

Application information will be posted here when it becomes available.

Apply Today
Applications Closed

NIRSA Creative Director