NIRSA Assembly

NIRSA Services Corporation
The Sarah Fain Distinguished Service Award

The Sarah Fain Distinguished Service Award celebrates the dedication of a NIRSA Championship Series volunteer who has embodied the spirit of Sarah Fain exhibited by their commitment to the Series through years of service to the NIRSA Services Corporation.

Presented during the NIRSA Annual Conference, this award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated exceptional performance in leadership and development of NIRSA programs, policies, events, special projects, or committees. The winner will be acknowledged with a handsome plaque during the awards ceremony at the NIRSA Annual Conference, and have their names recognized in the NIRSA Know and NIRSA Annual Conference materials.

The Sarah Fain Distinguished Service Award recognizes cumulative efforts made through years of dedication to the NIRSA Championship Series.

Applications are due on November 15, 2019.

Applications are now closed and will reopen again on August 12.


To be eligible for nomination, the individual should meet all of the following criteria:

  • Hold current professional membership in NIRSA
  • Have held continuous membership in NIRSA for three years preceding the nomination for award
  • Has never received the Sarah Fain Distinguished Service Award
  • Have volunteered at multiple NIRSA Championship Series Events at the Regional or National level including relevant events prior to the Series
  • Receive a nomination from a current member who has volunteered with the NIRSA Championship Series
  • It is recommended that the current NIRSA Championship Series Executive Committee members not be nominated

Selection Criteria

To illustrate how your nominee exemplifies outstanding service to the NIRSA Championship Series, please describe how your nominee contributed to one or more of the following areas:

  • Leadership of a pioneering nature in the formulation or development of Championship Series activities
  • Sustained, excellent performance as a volunteer over 3 or more years
  • Significant contributions that had a direct impact on NIRSA Championship Series Events including relevant events prior to the Series
  • Extraordinary dedication or creativity exhibited as a member of a NIRSA Championship Series Event
  • Significant contributions to NIRSA Championship Series guidelines, policies, special projects, publications, or event management
  • Tireless dedication to getting the details correct, being a team player, improving the participant experience, and doing whatever it takes to get the job done

Previous Recipients

Howard Taylor, CRSS, Purdue University

Dan Hazlett, Georgia Institute of Technology

For More Info

For more information, or for help with the application process, please contact Nicole Jackson, NIRSA National Sport Programs Coordinator.