NIRSA owes its success to the leadership of dedicated volunteers—to members who generously donate their time and use their experience in the collegiate recreation profession to support NIRSA members and strategically direct NIRSA’s operations and services. Thanks to these leaders, NIRSA continues to offer the best professional development opportunities, networking opportunities, and resources to the collegiate recreation profession.

NIRSA members vote annually via electronic elections to fill positions on the NIRSA Member Network and the NIRSA Board of Directors. Elections recently closed, and the Association would like to thank the members who voted—just over 31% of eligible voters exercised their right to vote. From the highly qualified slate of inspiring individuals who stood for office to the dedicated members who took time out of their busy schedules to vote, the strength of our Association depends on your voice—and you’ve made it count.

The Association is pleased to welcome our incoming professional and student leaders to positions on the 2021–2022 NIRSA Board of Directors and Member Network beginning on May 1.


NIRSA Board of Directors

President Elect

Wendy Windsor, CRSS, PhD
Tulane University

At-Large Director

Victoria Lopez-Herrera
The University of Texas at San Antonio

Member Network Professional Positions

Region I Regional Representative

Stephanie Smith
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Region III Regional Representative

Megan Choiniere
Oakland University

Region V Regional Representative

Greg Durham, RCRSP
Creighton University

Canadian Region Representative

Sandra Ondracka, RCRSP
University of Windsor

Member Network Student Positions

NIRSA Student Leader

Sarah Heemstra
The Ohio State University

Region I Regional Student Leader

James Stinsman
West Chester University

Region II Regional Student Leader

Kaleigh Gabriel
Clemson University

Region III Regional Student Leader

Aliyah Valdez
The Ohio State University

Region IV Regional Student Leader

Alyssa Moncrief
Texas A&M University

Region V Regional Student Leader

Bryce Muller
University of Nebraska -Lincoln

Region VI Regional Student Leader

Deanna Main
Boise State University

Canadian Regional Student Leader

Kevin Wilson
University of Waterloo


Please join us in congratulating our elected leaders!


  • For more information, please contact NIRSA Member Relations Manager Sarah Leskovec.
Associate Professor at Elon University | NIRSA Profile

Cara Lucia, Ph.D is currently an associate professor at Elon University. She serves as the 2021-2022 NIRSA President.