Update, January 12: This article has be updated to reflect changes to the slate of candidates standing for Region VI Student Leader.

NIRSA membership votes annually, via electronic elections, to fill positions on the NIRSA Board of Directors and the Member Network as well as on any proposed amendments to NIRSA’s Bylaws (there are no proposed bylaw amendments this year). The 2021 NIRSA Elections will launch on January 14 and close on January 27.

The Nominations & Appointments Committee reviewed numerous qualified applications and, with the endorsement of the 2020–2021 NIRSA Board of Directors, presents the following for the 2021 NIRSA Board of Directors elections.

President Elect

Demond Pryor, University of Toledo
Wendy Windsor, CRSS, Tulane University

At-Large Director

Dave DeAngelo, CRSS, The Ohio State University
Victoria Lopez-Herrera, The University of Texas at San Antonio

Professional members will have the opportunity to vote on candidates applying for President Elect and At-Large Director on the 2021–2022 NIRSA Board of Directors, as will members of the Student Leadership Team.

Additionally, the regional nominations & appointments committees reviewed the various Member Network applications and, with the support of the NIRSA Nominations & Appointments Committee, presents the following slate of candidates for available Member Network positions.

Region I Regional Representative

Andrew Doyle, RCRSP, Southern New Hampshire University
Stephanie Smith, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Region III Regional Representative

Megan Choiniere, Oakland University

Region V Regional Representative

Greg Durham, RCRSP, Creighton University
Jason Vlastaras, Iowa State University

Region Canada

Megan Locker, Brock University
Sandra Ondracka, RCRSP, University of Windsor

NIRSA Student Leader

Sarah Heemstra, Ohio State University
Sydney Vanderlinden, Texas A&M University-San Antonio

Region I Student Leader

James Stinsman, West Chester University
Alexis Gross, Rowan University

Region II Student Leader

Kaleigh Gabriel, Clemson University
Paden Alie, University of Mississippi

Region III Student Leader

Aliyah Valdez, Ohio State University

Region IV Student Leader

Johnny Keefer, Emporia State University
Alyssa Moncrief, Texas A&M University

Region V Student Leader

Bryce Muller, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Region VI Student Leader

Deanna Main, Boise State University

Canadian Student Leader

Kevin Wilson, University of Waterloo

The NIRSA Member Network expands the regional network of the Association and creates opportunities for member involvement and leadership development. Professional members will have the chance to vote on their respective regional representative in Regions I, III, V, and Canada, and student members will vote on the NIRSA Student Leader and their respective regional student leader.

NIRSA members stand for office

As a reminder to all members, candidates for the NIRSA Board of Directors and the Member Network don’t “run for election,” they “stand for office.” All candidates have agreed to serve the Association and it is an honor to have any one of them represent the membership. Therefore, it is not appropriate for members to campaign on behalf of individual candidates.

An electronic voting platform will be in place for the 2021 Elections. Please make sure your member profile is updated with your current email address so you can exercise your opportunity to vote! Only those professional and student members whose NIRSA membership is active as of 8:00am PST on January 13 will be eligible to vote.

  • For more information, please contact NIRSA Member Relations Manager Sarah Leskovec.
Member Relations Manager at | NIRSA Profile

Sarah Leskovec is currently the Member Relations Manager at NIRSA.