The NIRSA Assembly is a leadership group made up of NIRSA professional, student, and associate members as well as non-NIRSA members. They are facilitators of thoughtful discussions surrounding hot topics that will affect the profession in the next three to five years. Their goal is to identify, analyze, and research these topics and share their findings with the membership. Their perspective and insight as future thinking leaders plays an essential role in the work of the Association.

As we welcome the newly-appointed members of the Assembly, the Association would like to express gratitude to the following individuals whose terms are ending. We thank them for their commitment to the 2018–2019 Assembly.

  • Lynn Nester, University of Oregon
  • Kristy Caldwell, Texas State University
  • Derek Hottell, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Karina Knutson, University of North Dakota
  • Allie Bogard, Montana State University
  • Al Diaz, University of Oregon
  • Alberto Bustamante, University of Alberta
  • Coulson Thomas, Old Dominion University
  • Eric Barron, Towson University
  • Jodi Guthrie, Octane Fitness
  • Kelly Ibele, University of Wyoming
  • Liz Feldman, The Ohio State University
  • Riley Spenningsby, University of Houston

The 2019–2020 NIRSA Assembly roster has been finalized and approved by the NIRSA Board of Directors, and members will serve from July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2020. This marks the tenth year for this leadership body, and—as has been the case for the past few years—there was a high level of interest from members who wished to serve. Over 40 outstanding candidates applied for an opportunity to be a part of this year’s NIRSA Assembly.

Thank you to everyone who applied for the Assembly. NIRSA volunteers are a crucial part of the advancement of the Association, and your willingness to serve is greatly appreciated.

Below is the 2019–2020 Assembly roster listed by seat. The newly-appointed members will join six returning members from the 2018–2019 Assembly as they continue their service by fulfilling the second year of their term. Open seats and student seats on the Assembly serve a one-year term, and all members are welcome to reapply.

2019-2020 Assembly Roster


Parker Anderson, San Diego State University

Board of Directors Representative

Victoria Lopez-Herrera, The University of Texas at San Antonio

Past Presidents’ Representative

Laurie Braden, Louisiana State University

NIRSA Members

Bob Gough, College of William and Mary
Shelby Hinkle Smith, University of Vermont
Kosti Efstathiou, Willamette University
Peter Mumford, York University
Devon Rembert, Temple University
Kimberly Rottet, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

NIRSA Professional Members Less Than Five Years

Heather Hamilton, Colorado School of Mines
Benjamin Kohler, University of Minnesota Twin Cities
Jenny Strickland, Purdue University
Jesse Sheets, Mount Royal University

NIRSA Student Members

Miranda Buiter, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Claudia Cooper, University of Houston
Karen David, University of Dayton

Open Seats

Matt Beck, Oklahoma State University
Wes Bonadio, Ohio University
Paul Culbertson, East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania
Jessica Kiss, Bowling Green State University
John McElrath, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Lisa Molloy, University of Central Florida
Rachael Stephan, Centers LLC @ Cleveland State University
Mallory Valentine, University of Iowa
Gansheng Xu, University of New Brunswick

If you would like to contribute a collegiate recreation topic or idea for the Assembly to discuss, don’t hesitate! You can speak with Assembly members in person at regional or annual conferences. Alternatively, feel free to reach out with your thoughts and ideas by joining the Assembly Facebook group. Start a conversation today!


  • For more information, please contact NIRSA Leadership Programs Coordinator Chelsea Hansson.
Leadership Programs Coordinator at | NIRSA Profile

Lani Sherman was the Leadership Programs Coordinator at NIRSA.