The NIRSA Club Basketball Conference is ramping up for another season and we are excited to announce the several teams joining the league this year plus the two new divisions!

With these additional divisions, there is a clear opportunity for both student and professional development. Drew Cantwell, Club Basketball Work Team Chair and Assistant Director of Sport and Camp Programs at Louisiana State University, says, “The NIRSA Club Basketball Conference promises strong competition and even more exciting play in the upcoming 2018–2019 season! With the addition of a Men’s Northwest and Women’s West Division, NIRSA Club Basketball has grown to 52 total teams across the country. We are very excited to begin regular season play and believe this will be the best NIRSA Club Basketball season to date.”

This year we are again having Club Regionals which are smaller weekend events whose sole purpose is to facilitate conference games. Conference play is set to begin in the late winter/early spring for all divisions. Club teams can expect between 4-6 games per Club Regional, as well as the NIRSA Regional Basketball Championship of their choice. Clubs will travel as far as six hours to reach regional play. Club Regional sites for each conference will be announced soon as details are still being hashed out.

The divisions are as follows:

Men’s Midwest Division

  • University of Notre Dame
  • Michigan State University
  • Northwestern University
  • University of Wisconsin, Madison – Red & White Team

Men’s Northeast Division

  • Western Oregon University
  • Eastern Washington University
  • Gonzaga University
  • Seattle University
  • University of Oregon
  • University of Portland

Men’s South Division

  • Tulane University
  • University of Louisiana at Lafayette
  • Louisiana State University
  • Stephen F. Austin State University
  • Texas A&M University
  • University of the Incarnate Word
  • University of Arkansas, Cossatot
  • Vanderbilt University

Women’s Midwest Division

  • Bowling Green State University
  • DePaul University
  • Grand Valley State University
  • Illinois State University
  • Marquette University
  • Northwestern University
  • Oakland University
  • Purdue University
  • University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
  • University of Wisconsin, Flint
  • University of Iowa – Team A and B
  • University of Nebraska
  • University of Wisconsin, Madison

Women’s Northeast Division

  • Boston College
  • College of the Holy Cross
  • Northeastern University
  • Sacred Heart University
  • Syracuse University
  • University of Connecticut
  • University of Vermont

Women’s South Division

  • Emory University
  • Coastal Carolina
  • Furman University
  • Mercer University
  • University of Miami

Women’s West Division

  • Cal Poly SLO
  • Loyola Marymount
  • San Jose State University
  • University of Pacific


  • For more information, please contact Club Basketball Work Team Chair Drew Cantwell or NIRSA National Sport Programs Coordinator Nicole Jackson.
National Sport Programs Coordinator at

Nicole Jackson is currently the National Sport Programs Coordinator at NIRSA.