NIRSA membership votes annually, via electronic elections, to fill positions on the NIRSA Board of Directors and the Member Network as well as on any proposed amendments to NIRSA’s Bylaws. The 2019 Elections will launch on January 17 and close on January 29.

The Nominations & Appointments Committee reviewed numerous qualified applications and, with the endorsement of the 2018–2019 NIRSA Board of Directors, presents the following slate of candidates for the 2019 NIRSA Board of Directors elections.

President Elect
Yvette Kell, PhD, CRSS, Centers, LLC at University of Missouri-St. Louis
Cara McFadden, PhD, Elon University 

At-Large Director
Derek Hottell, PhD, Virginia Commonwealth University
Victoria Lopez-Herrera, The University of Texas at San Antonio

Professional members will have the opportunity to vote on candidates applying for President Elect and At-Large Director on the 2019–2020 NIRSA Board of Directors, as will members of the Student Leadership Team.

Additionally, the regional nominations & appointments committees reviewed the various Member Network applications and, with the support of the NIRSA Nominations & Appointments Committee, presents the following slate of candidates for available Member Network positions.

Region I Regional Representative
Ryan Hagen, RCRSP, Centers LLC at University of New Haven

Region III Regional Representative
Christopher Crume, RCRSP, Denison University
Nicholas Froelich, Centers LLC at Cleveland State University 

Region V Regional Representative
Douglas Ewing, RCRSP, CRSS, Fort Lewis College
Cody Mikl, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities 

Canadian Regional Representative
Tanya Angus, University of Manitoba 

NIRSA Student Leader
Cheyanne Clouse, University of Mississippi
Kyle Stump, The Ohio State University 

Region I Student Leader
Michael Brito, Rowan University
Elisabeth Pagliuca, Stony Brook University 

Region II Student Leader
Taylor Brandt, University of West Georgia
Juliana Frigerio, University of Alabama 

Region III Student Leader
Bailey Adams, Central Michigan University
Kristina Kors, Purdue University 

Region IV Student Leader
Brandon Bermea, Oklahoma State University
Katie Haarmann, University of Arkansas

Region V Student Leader
Julie Johnson, University of Nebraska
Nick Remmes, Drake University 

Region VI Student Leader
Brett Carter, Central Washington University
Zachary Wallace, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Canadian Student Leader
Judith Owusuaah, York University

The NIRSA Member Network expands the regional network of the Association and creates opportunities for member involvement and leadership development. Professional members will have the chance to vote on their respective regional representative in Regions I, III, V or Canada, and student members will vote on the NIRSA Student Leader and their respective regional student leader.

As a reminder to all members, candidates for the NIRSA Board of Directors and the Member Network don’t “run for election,” they “stand for office.” All candidates have agreed to serve the Association and it is an honor to have any one of them represent the membership. Therefore, it is not appropriate for members to campaign on behalf of individual candidates.

An electronic voting platform will be in place for the 2019 Elections. Please make sure your member profile is updated with your current email address so you can exercise your opportunity to vote! Only those professional and student members whose NIRSA membership is active as of 8:00am PST on January 16 will be eligible to vote.


  • For more information, please contact NIRSA Senior Director of Operations Mary Callender.
Senior Director of Operations at | NIRSA Profile

Mary Callender, CRSS is the Senior Director of Operations at NIRSA.