NIRSA and the entire field of collegiate recreation are made great by the passion, drive, and dedication of some truly amazing individuals and institutions. Each year, NIRSA is proud to recognize some of its extraordinary members with a variety of awards.

The Association would like to congratulate for their excellence all the inspiring award recipients who were announced for the first time during the NIRSA 2018 Annual Conference and & Campus Rec and Wellness Expo!

Foundation Leadership Award

The NIRSA Foundation Leadership Award annually recognizes an individual or group that has demonstrated exceptional dedication to the NIRSA Foundation and its mission.

Award Recipient

Loretta Capra, Colorado State University- Fort Collins

Juliette Moore People of Color Distinguished Leadership Award

The Juliette Moore Distinguished Leadership Award honors those individuals who have helped further the goals of building a diverse and inclusive culture in our Association by fostering equality of opportunity, encouraging diverse perspectives, and creating a welcoming and supportive climate.

Award Recipient

Jean McClellan-Holt, Ed.D, RCRSP, Old Dominion University

Regional Awards of Merit

The Regional Award of Merit acknowledges exceptional performance or dedication of NIRSA Members.

Region I

Earl Cabellon, RCRSP

Region II

Mark Crager, RCRSP

Region III

John Lentz

Region IV

Laura Munroe

Region VI

Mary O’Mahoney

Canadian Region

Chris Dawe, RCRSP

Sarah Fain Distinguished Service Award

The Sarah Fain Distinguished Service Award recognizes cumulative efforts made through years of dedication to the NIRSA Championship Series.

Award Recipient

Dan Hazlett, Georgia Institute of Technology

Again, congratulations to all of this year’s NIRSA award recipients, true leaders in collegiate recreation! For a full list of recipients please visit the NIRSA awards webpage.

  • For more information about NIRSA Awards, please contact NIRSA Leadership Programs Coordinator Lani Beavers.