The NIRSA Assembly, a leadership group made up of NIRSA professional and student members as well as non-NIRSA members, is the think-tank for the future of collegiate recreation. They are focused on identifying, analyzing, and researching global, national, and local hot topics related to the future of collegiate recreation.

As we welcome the newly-appointed members of the Assembly, the Association would like to express gratitude to the following individuals whose terms are ending. We thank them for their commitment to the 2016–2017 Assembly.

Don Stenta, PhD, The Ohio State University
Brigitta Putnam, Cornell University
Charles Judkins, Florida International University
Domonique Dunn, University of Kentucky
Jami Houston, University of Illinois At Urbana- Champaign
Marie  VanBuskirk, Oakland University
Matt Grimm, RCRSP, Stevenson University
Matt McCarthy, Colorado State University
Matthew Beck, RCRSP, CENTERS@ Cleveland State University
Michael Giles, Jr., CRSS, Iowa State University
Trish Dorman, University of Oregon

The 2017–2018 NIRSA Assembly roster has been finalized and approved by the NIRSA Board of Directors, and members will serve from July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2018. This marks the eighth year for this leadership body, and—as has been the case for the past few years—there was a high level of interest from members who wished to serve. Over 30 outstanding candidates applied for an opportunity to be a part of this years’ NIRSA Assembly.

Thank you to all professional, student, and associate members who applied for an Assembly position. NIRSA volunteers are a crucial part of the advancement of the Association, and your willingness to serve is greatly appreciated.

Below is the 2017–2018 Assembly roster listed by seat. The newly-appointed members will join six returning members from the 2016–2017 Assembly as they continue their service by fulfilling the second year of their term. Open seats on the Assembly serve a one-year term, and all members are welcome to reapply. There will be two previous Assembly members serving in an open seat position on the 2017–2018 Assembly.

Board of Directors Representative, Convener

Kristy Caldwell, CRSS, Texas State University


Past Presidents’ Representative

Mick Deluca, CRSS, RCRSP, UCLA


NIRSA Members

Derek Hottell, Virginia Commonwealth University
Karina Knutson, University of North Dakota
Lynn Nester, EdD, RCRSP, California State University – San Bernardino
Marc Iturriaga, RCRSP, Mount Royal University
Marc Falkenstein, University of the Pacific
Wes Bonadio, Ohio University


NIRSA Professional Members Less Than Five Years

Allie Bogard, Southern Oregon University
Jennifer Pecoraro, Georgia Institute of Technology
Lauren, Brown, RCRSP, University of Colorado Denver
Parker Anderson, San Diego State University


NIRSA Student Members

Chance Ryon, Univerity of West Florida
Laura Whiteley, Oakland University
Matt Holmquist, Texas A&M University


Open Seats

Christian Garcia, Texas A&M International University
Jodi Galucci, Cornell University
Rob Patchett, CRSS, Colorado State University
Ross Rodriguez, RCRSP, The University of Texas at Austin
Scott Holmes, The Ohio State University
Stephanie (Kloos) Smith, MIT
Tiffany Lomax, Delaware State University
If you would like to contribute a collegiate recreation topic or idea for the Assembly to discuss, don’t hesitate! You can speak with Assembly members in person at regional or annual conferences. Alternatively, feel free to reach out with your thoughts and ideas by joining the Assembly Facebook Group. Start a conversation today!


  • For more information, please contact NIRSA Leadership Programs Coordinator Lani Beavers.
Leadership Programs Coordinator at | NIRSA Profile

Lani Sherman was the Leadership Programs Coordinator at NIRSA.