This April, NIRSA, the NIRSA Foundation, and the NIRSA Championship Series finalized committee appointments for the 2019–2020 leadership year. NIRSA committees perform an important role by focusing their work on specific topics relevant to both the collegiate recreation profession and the Association.

Over 240 NIRSA members applied to serve on committees and work teams this year, showing a tremendous amount of support for the Association. It comes as no surprise, given our profession’s focus on students, that some of the highest levels of interest were in committees related to student development and support: the NIRSA Foundation Scholarships Committee, the Student Professional Development Committee, and the William Wasson Student Awards Committee.

NIRSA’s abilities and achievements are a direct result of the incredible, dedicated volunteers who tirelessly strive to help the Association realize its vision of inspiring healthy people and communities worldwide. These individuals—who give so much time and talent to NIRSA and collegiate recreation—are the reason the field has come so far. They are the guarantee of great things to come.

Congratulations to the newly-appointed 2019–2020 committee and work team chairs!

The leadership year for the NIRSA and NIRSA Foundation committees runs from May 1, 2019 to April 30, 2020. The roster and charges for all committees is available online. Please join us in welcoming these NIRSA leaders to their new roles.

NIRSA Annual Conference Committees

Student Professional DevelopmentChairJustin FletcherAshland University
Conference ProgramChairDavid PetersFlorida State University
Conference ExpoCo-ChairAlicia RossowFlorida Southern College
Conference ExpoCo-ChairSuzanne RiesFlorida Gulf Coast University
Career Services CenterChairSarah DaughertyEastern Illinois University

NIRSA Awards Committees

Annual Service AwardChairBecky ToddUniversity of Arkansas
Creative Excellence AwardsChairAlicia FoderaAmerican University
Honor Award CommitteeChairVicki HighstreetUniversity of Nebraska
Outstanding Sports Facilities AwardsChairE.J. PattersonThe University of Texas at Austin
William N. Wasson Student
Leadership & Academic Awards
ChairKacy TobergGeorgia State University

NIRSA Governance Committees

Audit & FinanceChair (BOD Rep)Kristy CaldwellTexas State University
BylawsChairStan ShinglesCentral Michigan University
Nominations & AppointmentsChair (BOD Rep)David DavenportAustin Peay

NIRSA Institute Committees

Intramural & Sport ClubCo-chairAshley LaxUniversity of Wisconsin- Madison
Co-chairJonathan JohnstonTexas A & M University- Commerce

NIRSA Programs/Services

HBCU CommitteeCo-chairIisha VoltzTexas Southern University
Co-chairNicole PiscitelliNorth Carolina Central University
Government AffairsChairYvette KellCENTERS, LLC At University of Missouri-St Louis
Research and AssessmentChairJason VlastarasIowa State University
#RecChatChairRichelle WilliamsWestern Washington University
Communities of PracticeChairTBD

NIRSA Foundation Committees

Foundation Travel (formerly Stipends)ChairMax MillerSwarthmore College
Foundation Golf TournamentChairMarc BeasleyUniversity of California-San Diego
Foundation Legacy SocietyChairLoretta CapraColorado State University-Fort Collins
Foundation ScholarshipsChairJeff HuskeyUniversity of California-Santa Barbara

NIRSA Championship Series

The service year for NIRSA Championship Series runs from June 1, 2019 to May 31, 2020. The following appointments have been made for the 2019-2020 year. The roster and charges for all committees is available online. Please join us in welcoming these NIRSA leaders to their new roles.

Executive TeamChairScott FlickingerCornell University
Vice ChairMarty DempseyUniversity of Florida
2nd Vice ChairAshley LaxUniversity of Wisconsin - Madison
Assessment Work TeamChairAntonio GonzalezUniversity of South Florida
Basketball Work TeamChairJeffery LogsdonUniversity of Cincinnati
Brand Management Work TeamChairDerek DossKennesaw State University
Club Basketball Work TeamChairJoshua DietrichKent State University
Flag Football Work TeamChairJarrode DavisThe Ohio State University
Soccer Work TeamChairJon JanisUniversity of Houston
Standards of Competition Work TeamChairKelli RockwellGeorgia Institute of Technology
Student/Professional Development Work TeamChairAbby Van NoteUniversity of Wisconsin- Madison
Tennis Work TeamChairGary CahenUniversity of Central Florida
  • For more information, please contact NIRSA Leadership Programs Coordinator, Lani Sherman.
Leadership Programs Coordinator at | NIRSA Profile

Lani Sherman was the Leadership Programs Coordinator at NIRSA.