NIRSA owes its success to the leadership of dedicated volunteers—to members who generously donate their time and use their experience in the collegiate recreation profession to support NIRSA members and direct NIRSA’s operations and services. Thanks to these dedicated members, NIRSA is able to continue creating and sustaining powerful communities of wellbeing worldwide!

NIRSA membership votes annually via electronic elections to fill positions on the NIRSA Member Network and the NIRSA Board of Directors. NIRSA professionals also vote on proposed amendments to NIRSA’s Bylaws. Elections recently closed, and the Association would like to thank the members who voted—the number of members who voted this year (1,387) was the most ever. From the robust slate of inspiring individuals who stood for office to the dedicated members who took time out of their busy schedules to vote, the strength of our Association depends on your voice—and you’ve made it count.

With widespread approval—93%—NIRSA professional members passed the proposed amendments to the NIRSA Bylaws. You can view a redline version of the changes on the

The Association is also thrilled to welcome our incoming professional and student leaders to positions on the 2017-2018 NIRSA Board of Directors and Member Network beginning on May 1.

NIRSA Board of Directors

President Elect

Leah Hall Dorothy, PhD, CRSS
Oregon State University

At-Large Director

Kristy Caldwell, CRSS
Texas State University

Member Network Professional Positions

Region I Regional Representative

Jessica Ward, RCRSP, CRSS
Princeton University

Region III Regional Representative

Scott Vandermoon
Centers LLC at DePaul University

Region V Regional Representative

Christopher Denison, EdD, CRSS
University of Northern Iowa

Member Network Student Positions

NIRSA Student Leader

Corbin Ross, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Region I Regional Student Leader

Gina Palermo, West Chester University of Pennsylvania

Region II Regional Student Leader

Katelyn Voorhees, Clemson University

Region III Regional Student Leader

Kenton Elworth, Central Michigan University

Region IV Regional Student Leader

Abby Blumberg, University of Arkansas

Region V Regional Student Leader

Taylor Sidore, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Region VI Regional Student Leader

Deja’Nay Gilliam, Washington State University


Please join us in congratulating the elected members!


  • For more information, please contact NIRSA Senior Director of Professional Development Mary Callender.

Bill Crockett is currently the Director of University Recreation and Fitness at the University of Maryland, Baltimore. He is the current Chair of the NIRSA Nominations & Appointments Committee and can be reached at David Peters is currently the Associate Director of Campus Recreation at Florida State University. He is the current Chair of the Member Network and can be reached at